Categories : ,

Release Date: August 26, 2013


With the release of “Hidden Journey,” Imer Santiago steps out of the shadows as a trumpet stylist and composer to be reckoned with in the jazz world at large, and provides additional evidence of the exciting new jazz movement that’s emerging in the country music capital. Santiago contributed most of the album’s compositions and, along with the album’s producer Rahsaan Barber, all of the album’s arrangements. The core quintet heard on Hidden Journey, in addition to Santiago and Rahsaan Barber, is rounded out by pianist Bruce Dudley, whose “The Solo Sessions” was released by Jazz Music City in 2012, bassist Jon Estes, and drummer Josh Hunt.  Guest musicians include percussionist Giovanni Rodriguez, who co-leads the Latin-jazz fusion band El Movimiento with Santiago and Barber; El Movimiento guitarist James DaSilva; Imer’s younger brother Ivan Santiago on electric bass; trombonist Roland Barber, Rahsaan’s twin; and Stephanie Adlington, who’s featured vocally on “The Very Thought of You.”


“A superior effort in virtually every aspect of performance, production, and packing.”- CriticalJazz.com


Track Listing:

  1. Girls’ Night Out
  2. Fourthcoming
  3. Flat 2176 (For Miles)
  4. The Very Thought of You
  5. Hidden Journey
  6. Flat 2176 (Para Puente)
  7. What A Wonderful World
  8. Keegan’s Prelude
  9. Lonely Nights
  10. Reminiscence
  11. Keegan’s Lullaby
Hidden Journey
What A Wonderful World
Girls' Night Out
  •  Download